Coffee Date Catch Up

It’s been a weird start to 2020 for all of us and, if I’m being honest, I wasn’t really okay before the lockdown. I’ve only just started to find my rhythm again and after reading this catch-up with CreativelyCat, I felt physically and mentally able to start writing again. This post is a (virtual and safely distanced) coffee date where I update you on how things currently stand.

So. With cup of coffee in hand, let’s chat.

kris-atomic-3b2tADGAWnU-unsplash
Photo by Kris Atomic on Unsplash

The UK Lockdown

I was in Canada (on a disrupted ski holiday) when things really started to heat up in the UK. Canada was absolutely amazing in how they have handled things as they closed down the ski resorts after our first day (in what became a repeating scenario for the rest of the holiday) due to suspected cases in a village further up the mountain pass. My family and I kept up to date with Canadian and British news for the remaining week and decided to come back early with me. We elected to quarantine ourselves for two weeks just to be safe because 9 hours on a plane and absolutely no social distancing or detailed information on arrival just made sense. The day after we arrived, the UK went into lockdown.

Gaming

Just before lockdown, I finally bought a PS4. I only had enough money to buy that and a physical copy of Overwatch. Since lockdown, I’ve bought digital copies of Witcher 3 and Firewatch. Hunting monsters and shooting brightly coloured characters has been a great way of relieving stress during lockdown. And, while it may not be a great habit (and one I would like to change) but playing a couple rounds of Overwatch before I sit down to work has created a much needed structure to my morning.

thought-catalog-505eectW54k-unsplash
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Work

I am so lucky that I am able to work from home during lockdown and that we moved everything online in preparation for our office move. It meant I could work at my parents’ house until I could get back home. I started a job in central London in October last year and, if I’m being honest, I am dreading the moment I’m asked to commute again – it’s an hour and a half on a crowded train. I may miss the office atmosphere but I don’t want to make things harder for those who need to travel into work.

Relationship

My partner and I celebrated our 5th anniversary recently. We met at university and spent a large proportion of our time together because we have similar interests and were on the same course. Since starting work, our timetables were completely out of sync and it was really playing havoc with my sense of self and where the relationship was because we went from spending 80% of time together to 10%. Being at home with one another again has been a major blessing from this situation. We’ve been able to iron out the kinks and work on the cracks that were beginning to crop up.

I’ve still got work to do on my relationship with myself. I’m taking the steps to find a therapist to help deal with the thoughts that go through my head at 90 miles an hour and I’m trying to start up some of my old hobbies. But. Baby steps.

Reading

Since graduating, I’ve not done much reading. Doing two degrees in literature and creative writing means a lot of reading over 6 years and I need a break. Then I discovered Critical Role and podcasts in general and that became my commute. A lot of the books on my bookshelves are weighty (either physically they are huge, or they are literary and intellectual) or I’ve already read them.

I’m currently reading Resovoir 13 by Jon McGregor (hopefully, I’ll write a blog post about it). The way he writes means it’s easy to pick up and read a section before bed.

How are you guys finding lockdown? And any good book recommendations you want to throw my way?

Leave a comment