Orange Books

Part of Papertea & Bookflowers / The Write Reads April Challenge.


This year has been weird. Though, if I were to sit down and think about it, I can’t really put this past year as the reason for my reading slump. I don’t know if it happens to you, but I am no stranger to the feeling of just not wanting to read. Sometimes it last a month, sometimes a few, sometimes more than a year.

Over the last six months, I have been slowly making my way through some books. Not exactly forcing myself to continue reading, but definitely making an active choice to sit down and read rather than scroll through social media (or listen to podcasts).

Finally, about a week ago, I picked up a book. Once I finished it, I picked up another – one which I know I could finish in a couple of days. Once I finished it, I picked up another. Each time, picking something that might challenge me a bit more, either in content or just length. I’m now reading the next book in the Outlander series and feel pretty confident that I have broken the slump.

So when I saw The Write Reads was doing a challenge on Insta and Twitter, I figured I had the brain power to give it a go. The challenge list can be found, over here

I am pleasantly surprised by how many orange books my partner and I have. After this photo was taken, and all the books put back on their shelves, I found no less than five more orange books (four of which were on the Terry Pratchett shelf). Our bookshelves are an absolute mess with our fiction books only in a vague alphabetical order by author surname.

I’m still not 100% convinced by rainbow shelves, but it is nice to see all the sameish colour books together.

How do you organise your shelves? 

Leave a comment