Comfort Reads

Part of Papertea & Bookflowers / The Write Reads April Challenge.

As someone who goes through reading booms and reading draughts, the thought of comfort books was initially alien. When ill, I’m more inclined to rewatch the extended Lord of the Rings trilogy or Labyrinth. Stopping to think about it though, there are books I return to (or have returned to) over the years.

These books are well worn, dog-earred, spine thoroughly broken. They are old friends or a cup of tea on a rainy day. Ready to absorb my woes and share old stories.

Presented below, (in age order of when they became comforting) are my top three comfort reads:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

While I no longer engage with anything new from this series – due to the author’s horrific attitude – like many 90’s millennials, I grew up with Harry. The third book still has hope brimming at the surface, however we are beginning to see darkness creep ever closer. What once felt like a bogeyman feels closer to home.

Voldemort does physically appear in this book. The pain and hurt and prejudices he caused do. We get to see more social injustices explored:

  • Sirius is an escaped fugitive for a crime he didn’t commit.
  • We learn about prejudices Lupin faces.
  • Book smart characters look down on those who study (and do well in!) subjective subjects – looking at you Hermione.
  • We see that adults aren’t always right.

Speaking of which, book 3 also introduces my favourite character: Remus Lupin. Fanart (and the films) depictions of Remus really are the epitome of Dark Academia and you can probably trace my interest of the aesthetic back to this portrayal.

He was the teacher I wanted to have and the teacher I hope to one day be.

Inkheart

Ah, what budding writer doesn’t love the idea of their creations coming to life?

I may attribute my initial desire to become a writer to J.K. but it is Cornelia Funke (and translator, Anthea Bell) who really showed me how language can be utilised. Descriptions so poetically vivid, you can visualise what’s happening and where.

I’m not sure if I view myself more as Mo or Meggie or Eleanor the older I get.

As a child, I coveted Eleanor’s library. I soaked in the message that by reading widely, you can explore the world and worlds beyond from your living room.

As a book for younger teens, this book is saturated with hope as most books for younger readers are. Which might explain my desire to return to a world that explores the comfort of books when I am feeling down.

Frenchman’s Creek

Cornwall. Pirates. Historical Romance.

If you don’t know me, this ticks all the boxes. And then some. My first DuMaurier – I am contrary by nature so actively sought out one which is less talked about.

This is a lighter story than her other work. No brooding scenes of claustrophobic fog to get lost in. Don’t get me wrong, I love Jamaica Inn but everything has a time and a place.

Featuring a headstrong young woman, banished from high society, we get to see someone falling in love with the landscape around them. The book has mystery and intrigue and all the other trappings of romance fiction and this quote:

“Pirates do not call upon ladies in the afternoon. They come stealthily, by night, knocking upon a window—and the lady of the manor, fearful for her safety, gives him supper, by candlelight.”

I don’t think I could actually tell you why this line has always stood out to me. Just that it really resonates somewhere deep inside of me.


So tell me, what are some of your comfort reads.

Leave a comment