Revisiting Pottermore

Pottermore is one of those sites which, weirdly, makes me feel old. I was one of the many lucky few who tested it during its Beta days of it being an interactive game site / forum of sorts where it was impossible to use your own name – everyone was given a username combining two magical qualities and a number. Back then, you could only find out your House and wand. My best friend and I ended up in Ravenclaw and it took some (albeit not much) time to warm up to our official house.

Then, a few years ago the data from the beta site was wiped as the site was updated and remodelled into an information site and you could now find out your patronus.

Going by the belief that your Hogwarts information could change as you matured in a similar way to how your Myers-Briggs (16 Personalities makes a good substitute if you haven’t taken an official MBTI test) changes, eventually settling once you reach your early-mid twenties, I thought I would see if my Hogwarts personality had changed.

Hogwarts One

Original: Ravenclaw

New: Slytherin

How I feel: This honestly threw me a curve ball. I know lots of people who are Slytherins who are lovely so it’s not the misconception that Slytherins are evil. It simply doesn’t fit right. The only analogy I can think of to demonstrate it is being given Slytherin is like borrowing someone else’s shoes. Even though they are the same size and would get me from A to B, the shoes bear someone else’s indents.

I think I’ll stick to being a quirky Ravenclaw, if that’s alright with everyone.

birds-merlin-laurie-campbell
Merlin (A much cuter Ravenclaw emblem) Credit – Laurie Campbell

 

Hogwarts Two

Original: Polar Bear

New: Stag

I can practically hear the cries of the family in-joke from across the country about “Steve(!)” the Stag Head above my parents fireplace. I think the fact that I have a couple of stag statues and an entire dinner set with stags (though the pheasants would work) says how much more comfortable this feels.

However, for a long time, when prompted I would have said fox. I probably still would as they encompass both dog and cat qualities. It’s a difficult one that perhaps needs further exploration, as I’m also drawn to magpies and tend to visualise them when prompted to during guided meditations.

Hogwarts Three

Beta: Holly wood with Dragon Heartstring. 13″ with a surprisingly swishy flexibility.

Original: Alder wood with Phoenix Feather. 13 3/4″ with a surprisingly swishy flexibility.

New: Holly wood with Phoenix Feather. 13″ with a surprisingly swishy flexibility.

I think it’s really interesting that I’ve ended with new wand that combines elements of the two that came before. I really like that as it shows my core traits haven’t changed much.

I had just finished GCSE’s when the Beta site came out. So, it makes sense that I would end up with a wand wood that chooses someone on a quest. Nearing the end of my Masters degree, it feels fitting that I return to that wood as I begin to turn my attentions on what happens next.

As a teenager, I was definitely flamboyant, which suited a dragon core. As I’ve matured and come to terms with my own sense of introversion and independence, a dragon core wouldn’t feel right whereas the phoenix fits. Plus, having a rare core with a rare wood seems contrary enough to be me.

hogwarts-four.jpg

I don’t particular care much for the Ilvermorny information on Pottermore as it came out long after the last book, last film, and in many ways since I’ve moved on from the Potterverse. The books will always hold a special place in my heart and it is like going home when I read them. But. I’d much rather know more about the Marauders, the first wizarding war, more about Hogwarts as a character than other nations attitudes to the wizarding world. (Sorry Fantastic Beasts, although I love your music!)

Original: Thunderbird

New: Horned Serpent

As there isn’t much information on the site anyway, I think a combination of representing the mind and soul and favouring scholars and adventurers would work.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Revisiting Pottermore

  1. I was also a beta Pottermore user I think my name was SkyHowl or something like that and I adored it as a gaming website 😂❤️ I love creating new accounts again and again just to retake the tests for whatever reason and I recently did a post on this too, great post ❤️❤️

    Like

  2. Really interesting! I definitely agree about the Marauders/Fantastic Beasts stuff, especially since FB appears to be changing things that were canon/confirmed by JKR previously.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment