10 Bookish Facts About Me

I’ve seen a few similar blog posts about this and thought I’d give it a go. It’s a chance for you to get to know a little more about me and also for me to learn more about myself as I attempt to answer these ‘questions.’

  1. Favourite Book
    Inkheart –  Cornelia Funke
    It’s one of those rare instances where I saw the film first (and a film that does justice to its source material (if we ignore the ending)). It’s a book about books and about the power of reading – I’ve always been an avid and imaginative reader so this is a story that appeals to me on multiple levels. Having spoken to one of my friends fluent in German, the magic isn’t lost too much in translation either which I’m so glad to hear.

  2. Favourite Series 
    If you had asked me that as a child or a young adult, it would have to be the Harry Potter series. My copy of The Prisoner of Azkaban is so dog-eared and spine broken from the number of times I’ve read them. It’s been a while since I last read the books so I might go back to them as there is something fundamentally comforting about Hogwarts.

    For a series to qualify for a spot in the Top 3, it has to have re-readability. So if asked now, I would say Robin Hobb’s Realm of Elderlings series. Spread over 15 novels (and a few short stories) the world is expansive; there are characters you follow from young age to old age; you watch the world politics interact and change. I go back and get sucked in, find newness and become shocked all over again when certain moments have to happen.

  3. The Book Dream
    I would love to own a secondhand book shop. Maybe with a coffee shop, maybe not. I love everything about secondhand books and would love to live the Black Books life (though obviously minus the smoking and bad hygiene).

    blur-bookcase-books-375892.jpg
    Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Pexels
  4. Favourite genre
    It’s probably no surprise when I say it’s fantasy. As a writer, there is just something magical about creating your own world and getting others to engage with it as if it were real.

  5. Do you put down books?
    It used to be because I read five or six books at once and would just forget about one (I’m still finding bookmarks in books that I have no recollection of starting). During my undergrad, it wasn’t possible to not finish a book as you needed to be able to talk about all aspects of the books. My master’s is much more relaxed as it is more about our own writing rather than writing about others so I’m quite happy to put down books if I’m not enjoying them and explain what about it I didn’t like. 

  6. Dog ear or Bookmark? 
    I love seeing the look of a book that’s clearly been well read: The fattened edge, thumb marks, dog-eared pages. But. I am more likely to use a bookmark now. I’m not too fussed about it though so if I find myself caught with out a thing to use -unless the book isn’t mine or its an early/first edition – I don’t mind folding down the corner.

    aliis-sinisalu-299299-unsplash.jpg
    Photo by Aliis Sinisalu on Unsplash
  7. Least Favourite Genre
    Horror – both in terms of writing and reading. Which does make the writing workshops I teach so hilarious because all 13-15 year-olds seem to write about is finding the most gruesome way to kill off their characters!

  8. Favourite Reading Spot
    When I’m at my parents it’s the “dog sharing sofa” with a chai tea close to hand and at least two Cocker Spaniels curled up between my legs. It’s right by a window so, although it gets drafty, there is always natural light to read by. I haven’t quite found the perfect spot at my house just yet as my partner and I are still making it our own. 

  9. Fiction or Nonfiction?
    Typically fiction, but I am making a conscious effort to read more nonfiction and more poetry. It’s an ongoing process as I am just more likely to pick up a fictional story than I am a memoir. 

  10. Last Book Finished
    The Last Werewolf – Glen Duncan.
    ♦♦♦♦◊ (3.7 / 5 stars)
    If you look at most reviews online, it’s fairly reminiscent of the Oscars ceremony or the Man Booker Prize. Critics were full or praise while the average reader is less than complimentary. I can see both sides and I can definitely see why it was put on the extended reading list for my Masters course in Creative Writing. We didn’t discuss it in class, which is a shame because I’d be interested to see what my fellow classmates think of it. 

    It follows a two-hundred year old, hyper-cynical werewolf who is ready to pack it all in. My review (with spoilers) is over on Goodreads.

 

Leave a comment